PowerSchool Report and Export Codes | Data Access Tags (DATs)

Below is a list of Data Access Tags that have been used by our team in PowerSchool servers and have been known to work with some version of PowerSchool(which is always changing!). These codes can be used in certain reports and exports such as:

  • Form Letters
  • Mailing Labels
  • Object Reports: Text Object
  • Report Card Header
  • Report Card Footer
  • List Students Group Function
  • Quick Export
  • GPA Student Screens page
  • AutoSend

Attendance and Membership

Daily Attendance

Daily Membership(Date Range) is ^(*DM;7/1/2021;6/30/2022)
Daily Attendance(Date Range) is ^(*DA;7/1/2021;6/30/2022)
Daily Absences(Date Range) is ^(*DABS;7/1/2021;6/30/2022)
Daily Attendance Dates (Date Range) is ^(daily.att.dates;;,;A,U;7/1/2021;6/30/2022)
Count of Daily Absences by code is ^(daily.att.count;current;UA,EA;7/1/21;6/30/22)
Count of Daily Tardies by code is ^(daily.att.count;current;UT,ET;7/1/21;6/30/22)

Use the Current Date in DAT Codes by using ^(f.currentdate)
Example:
Daily Absences(Date Range) is ^(*DABS;7/1/2021;^(f.currentdate))

Meeting/Period Attendance

Period Attendance Count (Date Range) is ^(per.att;1(A);TX,TU;7/01/21;6/30/22)
Period Attendance Dates (Date Range) is ^(dates.of.attendance;P1(A);,;TX,TU;7/01/21;6/30/22)

Use the Current Date in DAT Codes by using ^(f.currentdate)
Example:
Period Attendance Count (Date Range) is ^(per.att;1(A);TX,TU;7/01/21;^(f.currentdate))

GPA

Weighted GPA is ^(*gpa method="Weighted")
Cumulative (Stored) Weighted GPA is ^(*gpa method="Weighted" type="cumulative")
Current Weighted GPA is ^(*gpa method="Weighted" type="current") Weighted GPA for Term(Year) Q1(21-22) is ^(*gpa method="Weighted" term="Q1" year="2021")
Weighted GPA for Grades 9-12 is ^(*gpa method="Weighted" grade=”9,10,11,12”)
College GPA for Grades 9-12 is ^(*gpa method="Weighted" grade=”9,10,11,12” credittype="College")) Credit Hours is ^(*credit_hours) Potential Credit Hours is ^(*potential_credit_hours)

Class Rank

The student's class rank is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="rank")
The student's class rank "out of" the total number of ranked students is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="rankoutof")
The student's class rank "of" the total number of ranked students is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="rankof")
The total number of students on the class rank list is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="outof")
The school name associated with the rank is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="schoolname")
The student's GPA associated with the rank is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="gpa")
The student's rank percentile, calculated to four digits is ^(*classrank method="{Insert Method Name}" result="percentile" percentiledigits="4")

Honor Roll

The student's honor roll is (if applicable) ^(*honorroll method="[method]" term="[term]" grade="[grade level]" year="[year]" result="[output result]")

Reports

Long Date is ^[letter.date]
Short Date is ^[short.date]
Formatted Date is ^[date;dateformat=dd/mm/yyyy]
Time is ^[time]
IP Address is ^[ip address]
PowerSchool version is ^[version]
Report Name is ^[reportname]

Student Information
Student First Name is ^(first_name)
Student Last Name is ^(last_name)
Student Last, First name is ^(lastfirst)
Student First Name and Last Initial is ^(first_name) ^(last_name;substring=1,1)
Student Age is ^(age)
Student Age (Long) is ^(age;long)

Smart Pronouns
He/She is ^(He/She)
he/she is ^(he/she)
His/Her is ^(His/Her)
his/her is ^(his/her)
Him/Her is ^(Him/Her)
him/her is ^(him/her)
Son/Daughter is ^(Son/Daughter)
son/daughter is ^(son/daughter)

School Information
School Abbreviation is ^(schoolabbr)
School Name is ^(schoolname)
School Year / Term Abbreviation is ^(abbryearterm)
School Year Abbreviation is ^(yearabbr)
School Year Name is ^(yearname) Term Abbreviation is ^(termabbr) Term Name is ^(termname) School(Table) Name is ^([39]name) School(Table) Address is ^([39]schooladdress) School(Table) City is ^([39]schoolcity) School(Table) State is ^([39]schoolstate) School(Table) Zip is ^([39]schoolzip) School(Table) Phone is ^([39]schoolphone) School(Table) Fax is ^([39]schoolfax) School(Table) Principal is ^([39]Principal) School(Table) Assistant Principal is ^([39]AsstPrincipal)

Scheduling (Period Info)

Replace P1(A) with your own Period Expression!

Course/Section Information
Course Name is ^(*period_info;P1(A);course_name)
Course Number is ^(*period_info;P1(A);course_number)
Section Number is ^(*period_info;P1(A);section_number)
Room is ^(*period_info;P1(A);room)

Grading Information
Current Grade is ^(*period_info;P1(A);current_grade)
Current Percent is ^(*period_info;P1(A);current_percent)
Current Citizenship is ^(*period_info;P1(A);current_citizenship)
Teacher Comment is ^(*period_info;P1(A);teacher_comment)

Teacher Information
Teacher full name(last,first) is ^(*period_info;P1(A);teacher_name)
Teacher title is ^(*period_info;P1(A);teacher_I_title)
Teacher First Name is ^(*period_info;P1(A);teacher_I_first_name)
Teacher Last Name is ^(*period_info;P1(A);teacher_I_last_name)
All teachers ever associated to a section is ^(*period_info;P1(A);all_section_teachers)
All teachers currently associated to a section is ^(*period_info;P1(A);current_section_teachers)

Stored Grades

Replace XX with your own Period Expression!
Replace TT with the store code of the desired final grade reporting term
Stored (Historical) Grades Information
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Absences)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Behavior)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Comment)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Course_Name)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Course_Number)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Credit_Type)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;DateStored)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;EarnedCrHrs)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;GPA_Points)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;grade)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Percent)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;PotentialCrHrs)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;SchoolName)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Tardies)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Teacher_Name)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Section_Number)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;School_Phone)
^(stored.by.course.period.cached;XX;TT;Email_Addr)

Standards

Standards Data Access Tags have two settings that are set in the District Admin portal if you follow the breadcrumb trail below:

District (Setup) > Standards (Grading) > Standards Data Access Tag (DAT) Formatting

Replace A.B.C with your Standard Identifier
Replace T1 with your desired reporting term

Standard Information
Name is ^(*std.info.name;A.B.C)
Description is ^(*std.info.desc;A.B.C)

Standard Grades
Grade/Mark is ^(*std.stored.transavg;A.B.C;T1)
Comment is ^(*std.stored.comment;A.B.C;T1)

Transcript Object

Percent Format
Field: Percent (format:)
Other Field/Text/Format: ##.##

Grade Level
Field: Other:
Other Field/Text/Format: ~(grade_level)

Teacher Name
Field: Other:
Other Field/Text/Format: ~(teacher_name)

Custom Text String/Multiple Fields
Field: Other:
Other Field/Text/Format: ~(course_name) taught by: ~(teacher_name)

Formatting

uppercase: Outputs the text in all upper case
Example: ^(lastfirst;uppercase) for John Doe will output JOHN DOE

dateformat: Outputs a date value in a different format than what is stored on the server
Examples:
^(dob;dateformat=MMMM D, YYYY) for 04/02/1980 will output April 2, 1980
^(dob;dateformat=MMM D, YYYY) for 04/02/1980 will output Apr 2, 1980
^(dob;dateformat=MMDDYY) for 04/02/1980 will output 040280
^(dob;dateformat=MMDDYYYY) for 04/02/1980 will output 04021980
^(dob;dateformat=MMMM D) for 04/02/1980 will output April 2
long: Outputs an Age to years, months and days Example: ^(Age;long) will output 11 years 4 months and 4 days numberformat: Example: ^(*DABS;8/19/2021;11/10/2021;format=##0) will output a whole number only without decimals.

Tab function: Move/align your text objects
<tabr 1.5>This text tabs from the right at 1.5 inches.
<tabto 1.5>This text tabs from the right at 1.5 inches.
<tabl 1.5>This text tabs from the left at 1.5 inches.
<tabc 1.5>Centers text at 1.5 inches from the left.
<tabd 1.5>Aligns decimal at 1.5 inches from the left.
<moveto 1.5,2.0>This text is located at (x=1.5, y=2.0).

Math Functions

Add, Subtract, Multiple and Divide using DAT Codes

Add(Sum) Function:  f.add
Subtract Function:  f.subt
Multiply Function:  f.mult
Divide Function:  f.div

Total High School Credits Earned is ^(f.add;^(gpa method="Grade 9 Credit");^(gpa method="Grade 10 Credit");^(gpa method="Grade 11 Credit");^(gpa method="Grade 12 Credit");format=##0.00)

If/Then/Decode Statements

Decode Format is:  ^(decode;fieldname;value;replace;value;replace;else)

Example:
Grade Level is ^ (decode;^(grade_level);0;Kinder;1;1st Grade;2;2nd Grade;3;3rd Grade; )

If/Then Format is:
^(field;if.fieldvalue.XX.then=result)
^(field;if.fieldvalue#XX.then=result)
^(field;if.blank.then=result)
^(field;if.not.blank.then=result)

Example:
Coming soon!

Updated on December 27, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry we're here to help!
CONTACT SUPPORT

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Knowledge For Schools by Measure Education